Los Angeles

MENTOR NETWORK

Profile Picture

Lucy Malloch '16

She/Her/Hers

Location Icon

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Oxy Major/Minor:  

Spanish Language and Cultural Studies/Kinesiology

Current Company:

Winford Bilingual Primary School

Current Position:

Teacher

Campus Involvement/Special Programs:

Varsity Tennis, Kappa Alpha Theta, O-Team

Secondary Schooling:

Masters of Education from Boston University

Favorite MP/Cooler Food:

Gluten free pineapple and pepperoni pizza

Best Oxy Class:

Spanish Phonology & Sports Psychology

Groups I Identify With:

Any!

Bio:

Hi! My name is Lucy. I am originally from Portland, OR, and live in Amsterdam, Netherlands right now. After college I lived in Boston, MA for a few years. I am currently in my fifth year of teaching. At Occidental I was on the Women's Tennis Team, a member of Kappa Alpha Theta, and on O-Team (senior year in O-Core). I loved my time at Oxy - extracurriculars, studies, being in Los Angeles, etc. It was such an amazing place to develop as a person and to get ready to take on the world. When I am not teaching in the classroom, I am working on my private teaching business (a pandemic quarantine project!), running, cycling, baking something fun, spending time in the sun or swimming in the ocean.

Career Advice:

While I was at Oxy, I honestly never thought I would become a teacher. I really wanted to go into the medical field. I always said was that I wanted a career that 1. Was not a desk job, and 2. Involved helping people. With those two things in mind, I always thought the medical field was where I would go to. However, my first year out of college I experienced working in an under privileged school in Boston, MA, and my outlook on my career changed. At the end of the day, your career should be something that fits what you want. Whether you have that in your first job or not, it should be something you work towards. Why? Because it's what you do for at least 40 hours a week, and the best feeling is waking up excited to go to work!